Skip to content

Crafting: Scrappy Rug…Or The New Cat Bed

February 7, 2012

It is a funny predicament. Seriously, nobody in the upcycling world warns you of the excess crap that you end up with when you save something from a bleak and dismal future in the dump or maybe worse, the thrift store. I was pretty proud of all the men’s XL t-shirts that I had repurposed into scarves and headbands. The issue is that I really only used the body of the shirt and so I’ve been stashing all the shoulder/sleeve material in a drawer that was close to overflowing. It looked like a manly crop-top factory exploded in my craft corner and I wasn’t really eager to do anything about it.

Manly crop tops. Not the most inspiring way to start your Tuesday.

When I saw this pin, I knew it was the only good way to use up my t-shirt scraps and end the near-Hoarders level of stashing that was going on. Darcy felt the same way. He was worried that things were getting out of control.

I followed Rags By Sock Monkey‘s tutorial for the rug and decided to knot all the pieces at the end, making the rug a bit lumpy but more sturdy. All in all, it took about 5 hours for a fairly large rug. Almost all of that was done watching television and the total cost of the project was $0. The best!

I am pretty happy with how it looks. I wonder if it could be a bathmat, although since it can’t easily be washed (maybe by hand in the tub?) it would probably get too dirty. For now, Darcy has claimed it and doesn’t seem to be interested in giving it up.

Happy crafting!

P.S Want to follow me on Pinterest? I’d love to see your boards too! Just leave your name in the comments and I can’t wait to see your crafty inspiration.
Follow Me on Pinterest

I’m sharing this project here:

The Pinterest Challenge
 

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 7, 2012 11:25 pm

    I’ve seen the white one one Pinterest. I love your colors in this one! I host a Tuesday Pinterest Inspiration party and would be honored if you would link up :) I will be following you on Pinterest too :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

