Skip to content

On nationalism

February 4, 2011

It was this post that got me thinking last week (A Deeper Story– great site, check it out). Or maybe it was the Mennonites I have lived with for the last 4 years. Maybe it was wikileaks…but maybe it was God.

All I know is that in 4 years of university, I’ve started to grasp that my allegiance will never be primarily to my nation. I will never again think of a war as justified, because my allegiance is first to Christ who said to put down your stones, to take care of that plank, and to love others. How will we ever be able to love with guns? And how will we ever embody the gospel while advocating for the political and economic interests of Canada or America, at the expense of the lives and well-being of people we don’t even know?

I don’t have all the answers, and without a doubt, people will argue that sometimes war is the only option. I might have held that opinion at one time, but I can’t now. Maybe it was the Mennonites.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

