Skip to content

Book Review: Same Life, New Story

March 27, 2011
Book review: Same Life, New Story

This book, by Jan Silvious, is a 10 week study guide for women highlighting women in the Bible. The tagline of the book is “Change your perspective to change your life” and gives a lot of helpful strategies for women who feel stuck in the life story that they currently live.

I liked this book because it wasn’t an easy study. I felt like there was a good chance this book would present a simple ten-step formula for being awesome, and I was pleasantly surprised to see that Silvious posed a lot of hard and even uncomfortable questions. I think that this would leave a lot of space and freedom for conversation when used as a book study for a group of women.

Each chapter is somewhat long, so groups will need to leave enough time for women to go through the chapters on their own before meeting. There are more than enough questions and lots of solid Bible teaching as well.

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Abby permalink
    May 11, 2011 3:49 am

    I have this book sitting on my “to read” pile! Is it worth the time and effort…..tell me…really?

    • May 11, 2011 10:53 am

      I liked it, the reflection questions were very good…but I would recommend “Take This Bread” by Sara Miles a lot more highly. I don’t think that I have posted my review of that one…I should do that.

Leave a Reply

