Skip to content

Sseko Sandals

July 19, 2011

I get pretty excited when crafts and social justice come up in the same conversation, and lately I’ve been hearing a lot about Sseko Sandals, made by women in Uganda and sold all over the world- this is, from what I can tell, a really successful and dignified form of aid and empowerment (unlike some other footwear focused charities…) and the sandals are gorgeous. I like to imagine all those women in Uganda (a country that is especially significant to me because of the time I spent there with CRWRC) sitting around and supporting each other as they make these beautiful sandals. It is crafting at its best- the kind of creativity that makes life better and community deeper.

Anyways- if you haven’t heard of them, check out their site. If you’ve bought a pair, tell me what you think! Are they comfortable and durable? They look so good. My hesitation is that my feet are flat like….well, some really flat things. These sadly don’t look like the kind of sandals you can throw a pair of orthotics into, because I could totally be that girl. Might be worth a try!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

