Skip to content

Pie Iron Pies

August 26, 2011

During my recent hiatus from Lunch Hour Crafts, I’ve been pretty busy making lots of wedding cupcakes, driving all over Ontario, booking spay/neuter appointments for the kittens (you knew my life was this wild, didn’t you?) and having a blast making campfire pies/hobo pies/pie iron pies.

The best, I tell you.

The. Best.

Essentially, they’re little cast-iron shells that lovingly enfold two buttered slices of bread and whatever filling your heart and tastebuds desire…my personal favorite is tomato sauce, cheese, and pepperoni, for a dinner pie, and cherry pie filling for a dessert pie. A fantastic camping invention and I seriously considered buying my own pie irons this weekend at Port Burwell. I still can’t understand why I decided not to.

Please, please…if you haven’t pie-ironed before, find a way to do it. It changes the way you do camping meals. We’re already dreaming of what else we can make in these things next year.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Lee-Anne permalink
    August 26, 2011 2:38 am

    Now this I can do!!! YUM!

  2. August 26, 2011 4:29 am

    we’re going to be doing hobo pies in Yellowstone tomorrow!!! can’t wait! 🙂

Leave a Reply

