Skip to content

Sweet Ruffled Aprons

September 10, 2011

These aprons may be one of my favourite projects that I’ve finished this summer. I had hoped to make a ruffled petticoat-style skirt, but halfway through I decided that it would be much more fun split in half as two aprons. I’m very glad I did- they turned out great.

For the skirt section of the apron, I used 4 yards of cream coloured eyelet ruffles from the fabric store (varying from 2-3.5 inches wide), sewn along the length of the skirt. This was so much easier than making my own ruffles (hemming a strip and gathering it would take way more time) and the different shades of cream all look good together. The main fabric of the skirt is a 100% cotton off-white muslin that I bought 10 yards of last year and have been slowly using up. I finished the edges with a zigzag stitch to keep true to the “shabby” look that I was going for.

For the waistband, I used the same muslin, folded over and topstitched. I used peacock-blue wide ribbon for the ties and extra reinforced the waistband. I’ve learned the hard way (multiple times) that you generally can’t iron ribbon- it melts. So, for these, I bought “low wrinkle” ribbon so that the ties can be tied many times without looking wrinkled.

These will be listed in the Lunch Hour Crafts Etsy shop later today- it is not to early to get a head start on Christmas gifts!

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 11, 2011 1:30 am

    So cute! Love the turquoise ribbon tie too!

Leave a Reply

