Skip to content

Women of Faith Conference Recap

November 15, 2011

It was so great to be at the Women of Faith Conference last weekend. I’m glad I got to experience my first women’s conference- DK and I both agreed that it wouldn’t be our last!

What I liked: Sheila Walsh (Wow, she is funny…), Angie Smith (my first ever experience meeting someone who I ‘know’ via blogs), worship with 8000+ voices, talking over all the things we were learning, checking out the merch tables, Spankx (sp?) jokes, “Amens” and “Hallelujahs”.

What I didn’t like: feeling underdressed. I never realized that to be onstage at a women’s conference, you have to be dressed all stylish and swanky. I left all my fancy hip urban professional clothes at home I don’t have anything like that. Seriously. These women looked very put-together.

What has stuck with me ever since last weekend and what I’ve been walking out for the last few weeks was related something that Sheila Walsh talked about a few times. There are seasons and situations in our lives that are so, so unfair and are incredibly disappointing. There are questions that don’t have any answers at all. Christ knows that, and he’s right there in the midst of the unfairness, carrying it for us so that we don’t have to. Choosing to carry around the burden of all that isn’t fair will make you bitter and hopeless, and while surrendering it to Him doesn’t necessarily “fix” our situations, it can change our perspective- from hopeless, to hopeful. From isolated, to comforted. From bitter, to joyful. From disappointed, to expectant.

We took a walk down to Starbucks on Friday. A nice commuter showed us where to go, and it ended up being about a 45 minute trek each way but well worth it- we had a few hours between sessions and the weather was nice and sunny so we made the trip. The conference continued all day Saturday with more teaching and worship and more jokes about pantyhose. All in all a great weekend- I definitely recommend checking out a Women of Faith event!

 

Disclaimer: All opinions and thoughts in this post are my own. I was given free tickets by Women of Faith to attend the conference and write a review to share on this blog. It was my pleasure to do so, and I am totally grateful that they picked me to do it!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

