Skip to content

Project 3: “Invest Your Life” Wall Art

December 6, 2011

 

Two people that have helped me with some crafting (so…my enablers?) lately are my dad and brother. They’re both handy and helpful and keep a whole workshop full of tools and a garage full of woodworking supplies, chemicals, aquarium pumps, rocks, and more. They’ve generally willing to help with most of my projects but get some serious eye roll going on when our conversations go something like this:

 

N: “Hey, Calvin, I need some wood cut for little chalkboard signs. Can you do it?”

 

C: “Perhaps, what wood and what size?”

 

N: “Oh, maybe with some thin wood? And maybe like *this* big? I don’t know, like…6″x8″…or bigger, or smaller. Whatever.”

 

C: *Eye roll*…”Could you possibly be less specific?”

 

For this simple DIY wall art, one of them gave me a piece of thin plywood that measured about 11″x30″, which I sanded down and dusted off. I chose coordinating 12″x12″ papers, tore, burned, and tea-stained the edges, and used adhesive to fix them along the board, cutting to size. I made the lettering with some adhesive cardstock letters I had in a scrapbook set, and added some fun embellishments. Easy!

 

Here’s what my finished project looks like:

 

Here’s what my inspiration looked like (click through for the original pin!):

We sing this song (Awake My Soul- Mumford and Sons) at church sometimes and also for a wedding that I played for in October. These lyrics ring so true for me- where you invest your love, you invest your life!

All the best to you as you invest yourself and your love this holiday season- how is your life making a difference?

Full disclosure: I started this project in November but just finished it off this weekend.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Nicole permalink
    December 6, 2011 3:19 pm

    This is amazing. I really really like it.

Leave a Reply

