Skip to content

Little Owl Handwarmer Template

December 7, 2011

I couldn’t find a template that I liked for these owls. They were all just wrong. Or not free. Which is not really helpful.

So, I made one, and I am so glad I did. It is stinkin’ easy, people. So simple!

Take a 4″x6″ piece of paper or cardstock or cardboard or acetate. Whatever. Hint: photos are 4″x6″- you can find an old one and turn it into an owl. Nobody will mind. I used cue cards that I found in a drawer. Where I found them is totally irrelevant. They’re cue cards. That is it.

Place your paper on a grid- like a cutting mat, or chart paper, or even just draw a grid of lines separated by 1″ (if my math is right, that means drawing 8 straight lines. You can do it.) right on your card. What we’re concentrated on is the corner 1″ squares. Here is what you do:

1. Curve off the bottom 1″ corners.

2. Draw ears in the top 1″ corners.

3. Add a smoothly curved line between the two ears.

4. Embellish with felt eyes and beak by tracing around circular objects for eyes (in Canada, trace a $2 coin in white and a penny in black. Everywhere else…trace something round.) and cut a small diamond for the beak.

To sew, cut two fabric owls with your template, place right sides together, and sew around with a SCANT 1/4″ seam, leaving a gap at the bottom to turn rightside out. You could sew with a full 1/4″ seam but it may make the ears kind of little. Clip corners, turn outside out, and stuff, closing the gap by hand or machine at the end.

I’m hoping to upload my template which you can save and print sometime in the next few days. I’ll update this post if I do. Till then, use these instructions to make your own!

Leave a Reply

