Skip to content

Project 20: Glitter Play Doh (Great Snowy Day Activity!)

December 29, 2011

I showed the results of this craft to a friend yesterday and she said, “I didn’t know you still played with play doh.” Breaking news, folks- you’re never too old for play doh. Never.

However, as much as I do enjoy it, this particular batch is for the kids at the Young Moms program I get to help out with. I’ve been volunteering there for years and now I’ve been hired to coordinate their kids activities while the moms are in group and Bible Study. I am guessing that making play doh is a skill I will need in the next few months, so this was my first attempt and I am pumped with how it turned out. This stuff is easy!

Recipe:

2 c. coloured water (for nice, vivid colour, use generous amounts of gel food colouring and stir it into the water)

2 c. flour

1 c. salt

1 tbsp vegetable oil

1 tsp cream of tartar

Combine all ingredients over medium-low heat and stir constantly until it looks like play doh, around 3-4 minutes. Turn onto a counter to cool, and knead until smooth. Sprinkle with plenty of glitter and knead it through. Store in a plastic bag or container.

Inspiration comes from this lovely pin!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

