Skip to content

I Can’t Vomit While In A Deep Sleep, Can You?

December 30, 2011

Are you one of those “Apps are the best thing to happen to my furious little fingers” types? I’m not. I haven’t bought or downloaded many…alright, 3 to be exact. Of those 3 (great sample size here) the one that I really like is SleepTracker because it has made my mornings a little more pleasant, which matters to me. Generally, I sleep a lot better when I can wake up with the sun (summer) but my work schedule means that I have to be out of the house while it is still dark (winter). This app tracks your movement as you sleep to time your alarm with your lightest sleep in a half hour window which causes you to wake up more gently. It also gives you a graph of your sleep habits (data!).

So, a couple weeks ago I got sick. It was the middle of the night when I woke up feeling off and within half an hour I was pretty sure I had thrown up a kidney. Like, in my feverish hallucinations I was picturing my digestive tract bobbing alone through Lake Ontario, leaving me behind. Not one of my finer moments.

Anyways, I had activated sleep tracker every night for the past month and it seemed pretty accurate, although I had been curious to see what would happen if I was out of bed sometime (although obviously not curious enough to intentionally wake up and get out of bed in the middle of the night…) and got my chance to see the results while I was tossing my cookies…all night long…

Thanks, SleepTracker…please find a way to distinguish between “deep asleep” lack of movement and “not in bed” lack of movement. At least it caught my 4:50am mad dash. 1/6 isn’t bad.

What apps do you recommend? I’d love to get a few more.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

