Skip to content

Project 19: Earring Holder Frame DIY

December 29, 2011

This was another handmade gift. I really like tweaking the projects on Pinterest based on what I need and what materials I have available. This one is based on a few different pins that all looked nice but didn’t really match well with what materials I could get. I don’t know where people manage to find ornate frames but I can’t find them. I guess I’m a little late jumping on the ornate frame train. Plain frames is all I’ve got.

 

To make this, I took a plain 8″x10″ frame, sanded and painted it (4 coats plus a glossy top coat), cut the back panel using a handsaw, wrapped it in fabric, reassembled it, and glued in white cotton crocheted lace. Simple but a great way to organize earrings and bring a bit of colour to a dresser.

Inspired by these, among others (click through to links):

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Abby permalink
    December 29, 2011 11:48 am

    The best way to find ornate frames, yard sales, usually filled with some really bad art. Chuck the “art” and keep the frame.

  2. December 29, 2011 11:50 am

    Thanks Abby! Now I can’t wait to go hunting at garage sales in the spring. 🙂

Leave a comment