Skip to content

Project 1: Owl Handwarmers

December 4, 2011

The original pinner said: "Make these out of flannel and fill with rice = hand warmers or ice packs"

My Pinspiration (above) was a picture of little stuffed owls that someone suggested could be little handwarmers. Clicking through the links didn’t turn up any tutorials or templates, but it seemed easy enough to do.

I started by making a template (How-To here!) and cutting out fabric from a pile of Amy Butler fat quarters.Ā I used twoonie-sized circles of felt for the white parts of the eyes and penny-sized in charcoal grey for the pupils and little golden diamonds for the beak. I sewed the faces on with an embroidery foot first, and then put the right sides of the pieces together and sewed them together except for a gap at the bottom for turning them out.

Filling owl butts with rice!

Fill them with about 3/4 cups of rice and turn in the seam and sew it over twice. Done!

To heat, put the pair in the microwave for no more than 30 seconds. Hear that? 30 seconds and no longer! There is definitely a risk of burning the rice inside if you nuke em for too long. Also, you could burn your fingers. If you’re thinking “doesn’t felt melt in the microwave?” you’re very smart. I tested out my felt with a little piece on a plate in the microwave before I used it and it was fine. Test yours first or use cotton instead.

When they’re nice and toasty, slip them in your pockets or mitts to keep your fingers warm when you go outside this winter. A great way to motivate kids to get dressed to go outside and wait for the bus or to warm up cold fingers after playing outside.

I’m really happy with how these turned out- I made a pair for my sister at university, and her room mate, and now her other friends are asking for some too. Anyone want to buy a few pairs for stocking stuffers? All proceeds to Safe Refuge!

They’re really fun to use and easy to make too- I definitely recommend this project. Glad I picked it for my first of 31. Check back for more!

Update: A big shout-out to everyone visiting Natasha Goes from Pinterest and Flamingo Toes– I’ve been sick all day and having you all visiting has been cheering me up a little. You’re the best! Leave some love in the comments- I’d love to hear about the crafts you’re working on!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. Nicole permalink
    December 6, 2011 12:00 am

    So fun! These are great!

  2. Amy Yamane permalink
    December 6, 2011 4:52 am

    These are adorable. Is there a pattern? I’m having a hard time finding it.

  3. December 6, 2011 2:41 pm

    I love these. Owls are very ‘in’ right now and so is having warmer hands!

    I would love it if you would come and share this at my Christmas link up this week.

    http://twelvecraftsofchristmas.blogspot.com/2011/12/christmas-link-part-no4.html

    Hope to see you there,

    Rosie x

  4. Rebekah permalink
    December 11, 2011 6:11 am

    Bethany N and I love these little owl guys – they’re adorable!

  5. January 2, 2012 12:20 pm

    They are soooo cute šŸ™‚

  6. Jenny permalink
    November 22, 2012 6:45 pm

    Can you put them in the freezer safely to make icepacks? i get headaches alot so that is what i would be using them for mostly. I’m also giving them to my friends for christmas presents

Trackbacks

  1. Little Owl Handwarmer Template « natashagoes
  2. 2011: Year In Review at natashagoes « natashagoes

Leave a comment